An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

MonoMonday – Texture

One small evolutionary step from reptiles and dinosaurs!

I always find bird's feet quite fascinating and todays Mono Monday gives me the perfect opportunity to blip them.

These feet belong to a very old sulphur crested cockatoo that occasionally visits – he has dirty feathers (unusual as they are usually pristine white), half his crest feathers are missing and his beak is broken. I offered him seed – put it under his beak, but he wouldn't take any (maybe he can't eat any more and is therefore not long for this world). I think he may be the same bird that not long ago had a really long pointy beak (also would have made eating hard) and perhaps it snapped. I don't think I'll be seeing him around much longer though. They live for up to forty years in the wild, but up to 100 in captivity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.