ahughes3

By ahughes3

Sunrise at Southwold

My brother-in-law lives not far from Southwold and I've been there 4-5 times now, always during the day. I have been down to the sea front everytime, predawn and each time the weather has let me down.

On this particular morning I headed out and the weather looked amazing. I set up my camera and took shot after shot from various angles. In the back of the camera they looked ok but it wasn't till I was about to pack up that I saw the front of my lens covered in sea mist. I cleaned off my lens and filters preparing to go home, when the sun started to break through the cloud and create the most amazing pastel yellow colour all across the sky. The colour also brought out the warmth in the sand and reflected off the stones. It was perfect. I just managed to catch three shots before the sun disappeared and I lost the light.

This shot sums Southwold up for me, warm, inviting, a place to explore and play. It part of what England is about and shows you don't have to travel far to see beautiful landscapes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.