Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Buckram

I have a book by Maxwell Nurnberg, I Always Look Up the Word "E-gre-gious": A Vocabulary Book for People Who Don't Need One

I began thinking what to blip that had texture. I thought wood's too easy. If we had a natural sponge I might have blipped that. I looked about me. Leather can have a good texture. One of my recorder cases is leather; another is a rather lovely heavy canvas twill . . . then I began thinking about the word texture . . . text ... textile ... sounds like a common root. So I did what I usually do looked in a dictionary (Chambers of course) and this is what I learned: it pays to look up familiar words sometimes. Never was I so embarrassed as when a colleague asked me the meaning of a word she'd not read before (I wish I could remember what the word was now). I gave her my own definition as concisely as I could. She was astounded a little later to find the exact wording of the meaning I gave her in a dictionary.

Anyway, Texture (nestled in the definition for text) anything woven, a web: manner of weaving or connecting: disposition of the parts of a body: structural impression resulting from the manner of combining or interlacing the parts of a whole ; as in music, art, etc: the quality conveyed to the touch, esp. by woven fabrics: - ....Latin: textere, textum, to weave.

Hence I chose a book (text), actually the slip case containing three volumes, covered with a textile that has texture. What can I say? ... I like words ...

With thanks to Skeena

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.