Stars

This afternoon I was working with groups of guys talking about studying and learning and what they might like to do. The idea that everyone in prison is an idiot is constantly confounded; two of the guys today are OU graduates having done all their studies inside. One is the guy whose degree we celebrated in July. We had a brief chat and when I told him I was leaving he promised that when he was out we'd go and have a beer. That's likely to be 15 years away. Another guy wanted to study astronomy - not the easiest thing to do if you can't go out at night let alone all the problems with the kit one might need.

As I got back to my car I saw the urban fox that slouches around the car park. It was dusk and even though I was outside the jail they tend not to welcome cameras being used so I just enjoyed watching it.

A ruptured gas main meant that getting across town was a trudge and by the time I got in I'd decided what I was going to blip. Then major faffation with the tripod and scope which I gave up on. So then I got the other tripod and I used the long lens instead. I've managed to lose the rubber eye-piece off my camera in the dark but it might turn up tomorrow - a new one won't break the bank.

This is Uranus, the brightest blob in the image, and there are a couple of other stars too - Julian will know what they are. This is for the bloke who is a long way from studying the stars even though he'll never know I took it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.