Music Box

I was looking in the attic for something of Jeni's and came across a box of things I'd assumed was up there but was unsure as I'd not seen it for ages. So, it was up there. It's a box, not too big, full of stuff I've deemed worth retaining, bits of paper, comics, letter, notes, tickets stubs from hundreds of gigs/clubs/festivals, a news paper from 1986 with me in it having just won a Raleigh Vektar pushbike in the Evening News competition, stuff, things and, this.

This is a wee note my brother made me after I had dropped him off at school. If I remember correctly I was at Stevenson College at the time, doing mechanics. I don't know if it really mattered if I was late or not, I think it mattered more that he got to school. So, I either volunteered or more likely was volunteered by mum or dad to take him. That was possibly the morning I took him to the motorbike place down the wee side street off Montgomery Street, beside JPs (now Pearces Swedish incarnation). It was a nice time, when I was the grownup and no matter what I did, he seemed to dig it. It's nice being that for someone, no matter ho much or how little you realise it at the time.

I'd rather be being a big brother than learning shit in a classroom any day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.