a town called E.

By Eej

Not supposed to happen

I never set out to 'tame' the Percys - I like my wild animals as they come; wild. But over time we are getting used to each other. I don't like spooking them, so I move around slowly and quietly - if I move at all. They, of course, LOVE that: all the food they want without any interruptions.

I used to just put peanuts everywhere, hiding underneath the sunflower seeds because of the Blue Jays. However, the Blue Jays are too clever and have started to just tip over the feeders looking for these peanuts, leaving nothing for the Percys.

So, I keep them with me and when there's a Percy close by I will put down a peanut as close to them as possible.

This Percy, however, understands the connection between the appearance of food and me, and has been coming right up to me to see if there's something to be had. One day I figured I'd try just giving him one directly. And it worked.
And now every once in a while we'll do this. Because as much as I like my wild animals wild, this makes me ALL the squealy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.