Leiflife

By Leiflife

A Pier Reflects Upon Itself

I walk upon this pier nearly every day with my dog, Music. It is often at the end of the day, a ritual during which I shrug off whatever has left my soul feeling cluttered and heavy. And I take my camera. I have photographed birds, alligators, boats and clouds from this pier, and an occasional fisherman with a cast net. (That was a good one.)

Late this afternoon with the sunlight waxing golden on the old pier and its pilings, I couldn't resist turning my camera on the pier itself. I was very tired, and I felt myself drawn to the watery and reflective depths beneath the pier. Later, when I looked at the photograph, I again felt that pull. Some part of me gratefully yields...finding some sort of rest in the green-lit atmosphere of water-worn pilings. The day with its blessings and aggravations is mercifully over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.