Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Home Is Where the Heart Is

72 hours after I drove back from Mum and Dad's to my flat - for three days of working, eating and sleeping - I am here with them in Essex again tonight ready to take Dad into hospital tomorrow morning. He is going to have what I fear will be a fairly gruelling biopsy procedure on his left lung. Earlier on today, the Chest Consultant called to say that, if a bed is available, Dad can stay in hospital until Sunday to have the rest of the fluid slowly drained and the lung lining sealed to prevent any further build-ups in the future. Let's hope there is a bed for Dad, and that both procedures are successful, so that he can at last make some progress towards breathing easier and feeling better than he has been for the past few weeks.

This is my set of keys for Mum and Dad's house. I've never actually lived in it, but it's like home to me, because the people I love most in all the world are here under this roof.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.