Half Finished

Sitting in my customary place in the dirt, gazing across the road at the tree I think I could paint from memory by now, I was amused at the sounds coming from th building site behind me. They are putting the roof on a new house, the building of which has afforded hours of entertainment speculation for OilMan and me. The man on the roof kept calling measurements down to the man on the ground, who was apparently cutting, boards to size. The only problem seemed to be that the man on the ground was hard of hearing, leaving the man on the roof to helplessly shout "Bob" over an over. Cell phones might come in handy here….

I told myself that I would publish my picture today not matter what I thought of it, because I AM NOT going back up there to sit in the dirt again, and I haven't taken any other pictures today. I will finish it, and I will publish the finished product and than I will not subject any of us to this particular oak tree again. I do love the way they grow, and the amazing patterns their branches make, and we are surrounded by them. It has been strangely relaxing to concentrate on them for three days.

The last, and deciding, game of the World Series is on right now. My friend Cindy said she would invite us over to watch the game, but her husband, Bruce, an normally mild mannered and delightful guy, is such an avid fan (he played pro baseball after college) that he is not a pretty sight when his team is losing, as they were last night…badly, embarrassingly, dreadfully….She said she took a walk while he swore at the TV….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.