Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

.Nostalgia

When I was growing up in Dublin, the Golden Discs chain of shops selling single, EPs and LPs, was a great place to gather. You could chat to the guys about the latest 'releases', the charts, the new groups. You could spend hours flicking through the stacks of LPs - asking the assistant to put a disc on the turntable to have a listen to it. You could maybe, just maybe, join the group of cool people who stood around barely talking - just looking cool (knowing you would never really be a part of that group). And when they introduced the sound booths and the earphones (and you kept talking too loud to your friend who didn't have an earphone on) it just reinforced what you knew already. Golden Discs was the coolest place on earth.

Nowadays, as far as I know, Golden Discs is reduced to maybe one store in Dublin. And its here on my doorstep. But I don't go in much. Its all CD this and DVD that, boxed sets of this and limited editions of that. I think they even sell T-shirts.

But I have my memories.

You make everything groooovay

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.