postcards from new york

By editrrix

just looking

Consumerism accounts for roughly two-thirds of the U.S. economy, which most political conservatives claim is still robust and healthy. I disagree. I visit stores with old, outdated inventory, hear about the rise of subprime mortgages that continue to face forclosure at an increasing pace, see more and more small independent businesses closing, and the American stock market in a state of wild flux. If consumers really lose their confidence and stop spending, then what happens to our Made-in-China pipe dreams? I have been out of work since December 2006 and I am spending less and less. I miss nothing and get my books and media from the publlc library. For entertainment, I take pictures. Designer labels and celebrities mean nothing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.