meccanica

By meccanica

lost

Another piece of great 1960's architecture. For some reason it never occured to me that the Dunedin City Council, who own most of downtown Dunedin would destroy the fantastic frontage that was on this building when they refurbished it.

I don't know what I was thinking. Apparently the plans have been on display for a while now, but I never looked.

PROSSER
Look. These plans have been on display at
the planning office now for a year.
ARTHUR
On display? I had to go down to a cellar!
PROSSER
That's the display department.
ARTHUR
I eventually found them in the bottom of a
locked filing cabinet in a disused
lavatory with a sign on the door saying
'beware of the leopard'.


What's worse is the all the recent buildings put up by the council have been a sort of mock neo post modern mess...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.