Rusty nuts

Breakfast this morning was accompanied by the sound of very heavy rain, making the prospect of wandering the woofers up the hill an uninviting one. I put on all of my waterproofs and stepped outside as the rain stopped. A good result. The dogs did the normal chasing around like lunatics, chasing rabbits and each other.
I left them at home and trundled off to the Stromness Hotel where I fitted a couple of new basins in one of the ladies loos. Home for a very quick lunch and out for a wander to Wasdale with the dogs. It seems like ages since I have been there, and the woods have changed - fewer leaves on the trees, and one tree has been blown down.
The October word challenge for today is atmosphere. These rusty nuts on an old road roller in the scrapyard have, perhaps been exposed to the harsh Orcadian atmosphere for too long.
Just getting ourselves sorted out for dinner with Emmy. my beautiful fiancée is cooking up a curry...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.