Magdeburg - Olvenstedt

Went to Inga's show tonight to take some pictures. My plan was to publish one of them here. But then Knut (Inga's husband) asked me to give him the pictures immediatly on my CF card. One of them has to be published in tommorows newspaper.

That's why I went to a city district called Olvenstedt - it is really scary and sometimes dangerous to be out there (especially during night time ;-) ). In the 1990s right-wing people, Neo-Nazis had this district under their control. A Punk was killed here at a tram stop in the late 90's. Nowadays Russian immigrants took over Olvenstedt - but there are not necessarily nicer.
A few years ago the empty space in the foreground was covered all over with the same worker's houses which you can see in the background. In this houses some murders (but mostly suicides) took place as well. Today it's all gone - nobody knows what to do with this place.

Here is a map showing the area when it was full of buildings.

PS: I wanted to take some more pictures of this place - but I went of in my car as soon as I saw 2 skins with dogs coming out of the dark - right into my direction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.