An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Perfect Country Walking...

High up on the ridge that Grovely Wood sits upon - and sprawls along.

Left home in the dark.

Returned in the dark.

Walked all day, tripod on shoulder, big rucksack on the back. Sturdy boots underfoot. This one about an hour in.

LARGE

And isn't it special when you think you know an area well but find a brand new footpath, with new views and special panoramas, unfolding, just for you?

Autumn colours in our native species haven't developed fully as yet, so the lines of beeches deep within the wood (to the right) were still a bit too green, so I'm sharing this early one with you. This fine tree is in an autumnal robe, but the weak, misty sunshine coming through dilutes that somewhat.

But best is how this landscape shows off this particular landscape. Its - and my journey - through, from where I've walked from and possibly to where I am going to next. Compositionally, a good landscape needs a visual journey, for the eye to travel into and around and finally a focal point to rest on.

Which is why the Avebury black and white that I backdated from six years ago yesterday works. And boy, am I so surprised how such an old image got onto the first page of the Spotlights - wow! And cheers!

I was going to download/post up last night, but after a much needed bath (now that I have hot water!), I couldn't stay awake. This morning, I am as stiff as a board and everything hurts, a bit. But what a fantastic day out, with silly people wearing shorts and T shirts. Butterflies even! And deer. My best spent Halloween, ever!

Possibly the local firework display for today's (Saturday) Blip.

Have a good weekend, all.

Lens is Nikkor 10-24mm

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.