My Angle

By myangle

Wynnum Harbour - Dusk

I always struggle for inspiration on the weekends. Jo and I were going to cut some trees down today so I was going to blip my favourite tool: The Chainsaw. The tree felling didn't eventuate so I tried a few posed close-ups with the chainsaw, but they all looked very average (and poserish). I didn't help my mood which had been growing blacker all day.

The downhill slide started when I went into a camping store to order a part for my dual fuel camping stove which leaks when pressurised. A $3 part order must have been so far out of their comfort zone because they asked me to come back on Monday so they could phone the manufacturer for a price. For goodness sakes! I didn't complain, I just walked out, never to go back. Luckily I had already been on to the manufacturer earlier in the week and at least they take customer service seriously. They offered to give me a loan unit until the part arrives (it could take a month). I refused the offer because I didn't see it being a big drama to get a local store (one of the bigger franchises) to get me one in. How wrong I was! I might take the manufacturer up on their offer.

Not that I need my camping gear now. Jo and I were planning to go Outback for a week in early September, but my boss has rejected my leave application. As far as I can see there is no reason to refuse my application except maybe that the company is shedding staff at an alarming rate. Can't have anyone going on leave if that leaves no one to do the work. He is also probably still smarting over the college time off debacle (whichI won). I am really annoyed about it because it is a good time of year to take leave. The industry is quiet at the moment. Jo has her leave locked in so now we can't even spend our holidays together.

It is time to look around for somewhere new.

Anyway, I went out later this arvo and tried to capture an image to make myself feel a bit better about things. It sort of worked. I somehow bashed myself in the throat with my tripod which really hurt and nearly caused me to hurl the offending piece of equipment out to sea! Luckily I managed to exercise some self-control and took a few dusk images. I still haven't found the knack of photographing Wynnum Harbour in a way that is pleasing to my self-critical eye. Five minutes up the road at Manly Harbour I can capture masterpieces all day but not Wynnum. It is an odd shape, very shallow and surrounded by bright lights at night. Not a good combination.

This was the best I could do.

2.5sec, f10, 400ISO, 18-55mm lens @ 18mm, tripod, Canon 350D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.