The roofs of Sibenik from the Fortress

I visited Sibenik during my 'Adria trip' in March. Ever since I've known I was coming to Zadar for a month, I have been plotting how to take Alf to Sibenik, not least so that we could enjoy lunch at one of the best restaurants on the Adriatic, the fabulous Pelegrini.

So this morning we hopped on a bus in Zadar at 10am, and hopped off again on the sea front in Sibenik bus station at 11.30am. The next hour or so was devoted to wandering up through the streets you see below until we eventually emerged at the gates of St Michael's Fortress (I love the Croatian name for fortress, which is Trdva), which was closed for renovations when we visited in March. Not so today, and I went right to the very top to get this bird's eye view of this lovely little city.

After a lovely three course lunch and a bottle of wine, what better way to end our visit than sitting at a cafe on the waterfront drinking coffee, before getting a bus back to Zadar, sitting on the lefthand side of the bus to view possibly the best sunset we've had since we've been here, most of the way back home.

A most satisfactory day out, not least because it also had a holiday atmosphere. All Saints Day is a biggie in Croatia, and I've never seen so many flowers and people in cemetries as I did today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.