dark|adapted

By dark

Collection



Yes, I'm back (more or less). My long absence can be attributed to a wide variety of reasons:

1. I was on vacation for 2 weeks at the end of December. Well, I've been back for two months now.

2. My computer's hard drive was extremely full, due to this giant collection of photos, so I didn't have room to load any new ones. I finally got a larger hard drive a couple of weeks ago.

3. It's been frigid here all winter (by Atlanta standards), and I'm not very inspired in the cold. Easier just to keep my hands in my pockets and my camera in its case.

4. I'm becoming increasingly frustrated by the slowness of my old G5 Powermac in dealing with my gigantic Aperture library and these 12MP photos. I've been just on the verge of ordering a new iMac for several months now, but haven't quite talked myself into it. It'll happen eventually, I'm sure - probably sooner, rather than later. In the meantime, I've switched to my Macbook, which is still irritatingly slow, but at least it runs Aperture 3.

5. I've been trying to buy a new house - it has far more room than the loft, a back yard, parking(!), and is still close to my workplace. Unfortunately, banks really don't want to lend any money right now, so it's been an unbelievably trying pain in the a@@ trying to get the loan worked out. Latest word is that we'll close on Friday. Keep your fingers crossed.

6. Ummm... the dog ate my homework?



So that's my litany of excuses. Sorry for the long silence - I should be back more often now (if the house doesn't suck up my every waking hour). Hope you guys are all doing okay.






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.