Whitby Goth Weekend 2014

5years 11days

We started the day with ballet. Katie was super excited to see her Saturday teacher as she hasnt seen her to tell her about her festival success, or indeed that she is now 5 and had a wonderful party. Her and her little friend (the only two in their class who were entered into the festival) were sky high and thrilled to tell Miss J about it and then insist on wearing their satins for class. They looked super cute though.

After ballet, we popped home. I had some finishing touches to do on Katie's outfit for the day - ready for our Whitby 2014 visit! We thoroughly love spending an afternoon with my parents as they enjoy their holiday to Whitby Goth Weekend each Autumn. This year was no exception. Katie has always liked being there, largely because she always has something pretty to wear, spends extra time with her Grandy, and usually gets ice cream. Today she loved the actually Goth Weekend more than I've seen. She enjoyed the people watching more- interestingly, it seems she is very content observing, mingling with and sharing space with people in whatever clothes, hair, makeup they so choose. Unless they are in a costume that involves the face being covered/overly altered. She liked pottering round, we spent most of the time just "promenading". Quite impressively, for the first time when fields of photographers arrived in front of her asking to take her photograph (as is the way during Goth Weekend) she just turned up the charm a notch and enjoyed it. I personally had a great deal of fun photographing my girl in Whitby today. I had said I would like to go up the Church at the cliff top around sunset and we arrived just in time to catch the beautiful warm golden light that I adore. She gifted me a host of shots, right before the clouds came over and the light was gone! She had fun "flying" in her new cape. And playing on the beach with just her hands, no bucket but having a glorious time. On 1st November, I might add. We had a really lovely tea together before walking back up the other cliff to the car and saying goodbye.

On the way home, we passed a huge fireworks display that I had mentioned in front of Katie was going on. The fireworks had just started as we approached. I pulled over but just could not get her to wake from her deep slumber! I photographed it though to show her in the morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.