Backstreet

I went into a camera shop today to find out about cleaning my compact's sensor. When the salesman told me the cost I said I thought perhaps I should put the money towards a new camera instead. As we walked towards the camera display, my male companion asked a question and the salesman turned his back on me to reply, blocking my view of the cameras. The two men struck up a conversation with me stuck behind the salesman's back. I walked round to the front of the conversation then when I spoke into a gap one of them interrupted me and the other ignored me. I was livid and left the shop.

Did the salesman think my companion would make my decision for me? Or that he held my purse-strings? Or is the patriarchy so worth defending that he'll forego a sale rather than treat me with respect?

What would you have done?

Edit: I've just remembered that this is not the first in the series.


Thank you for the overwhelming response to yesterday's. I've spent the day in spotlight alongside some really good photographers. An honour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.