Stepping Out

This is the best of a motley lot of photos I took in various locations today. Taylor Dock in the fitful sunshine at least yields interesting shadows!

Perhaps a change of scene would help... fortunately, that's coming up soon.But before that, two recently-read books that I highly recommend to Blipfoto bibliophiles:

How to Be a Victorian by Ruth Goodman is a fascinating look at everyday details of life during the reign of Queen Victoria. If nothing else, reading this will make you grateful for washing machines, indoor plumbing, meals of more than potatoes and bread, and ready-made clothing!

Mary Coin by Marisa Silver is one of the most beautifully written books I've ever read. Every word seems carefully chosen, perfect for the sentence in which it fits itself, yet the writing is never pretentious or precious. As photographers, I think all of you reading this would enjoy Mary Coin immensely. Both Phil and I read it with great pleasure, and I've bought a second-hand copy so I can enjoy it over and over again.

Blip 1076

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.