Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Lumsdale Falls, Matlock

I'm indebted to Fotoday who posted a glorious image from these falls last week. He very kindly provided information about the location, so this morning I headed off to the Peak District.

I almost turned round! The rain was lashing down all of the way up the A38. As I turned off for Matlock the roads were veritable rivers of water; standing water slowed progress and it seemed that I would be battling the elements if I was going to take any photographs.

Just as I pulled up into a small parking area the thundering on the car roof seemed to ease ever so slightly. I climbed out the car and raised the tailgate, using it as a convenient shelter as I donned boots, waterproof and hat, before extending the tripod and setting the camera onto the head. For the first time I was using a waterproof protector over the camera and lens. I needn't have bothered. As if by magic as dawn came the rain eased and I didn't see anymore rain throughout the three hours spent walking up and down the falls.

I chose this image as it was the only moment during that time that the sun briefly shone into the valley. The image is taken above the falls in Fotoday's image, looking down the gorge. I'm assuming Fotoday's photograph was taken on the flat flagstones on the right of the image. No, as I look at the image the shot must have been taken from close to the water.

It was such a good morning I've made an album on Flickr for some of the other images.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.