Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Cloud roll...

Firstly many thanks for all the stars and hearts for yesterday's dragonfly which raised it to the Spotlight page. It was worth the effort of crawling slowly towards it, getting very soggy knees from the wet, peaty soil of Holme Fen :)

Today has been much more autumnal - a day of brief spells of sunshine interspersed with some very heavy and prolonged showers. After a morning at the computer I felt the need to stretch my legs, so headed off to Thorpe Wood to hunt for fungi. Plenty about, but as I arrived the clouds gathered, light levels plummeted and there was some light rain, which meant that most of the photographs I took were rather grainy. I may have to revisit with the tripod!

I then went on to Ferry Meadows, hoping for a spectacular sunset. That didn't materialise, but for a few brief moments this subtly shaded cloud roll was reflected in Gunwade Lake. You can just see the brand new cafe and sailing centre on the far bank, and the smudge in the centre is a heron flying by.

Today we celebrated Rosies 15th birthday (a few days early but we wanted to do it while she could still enjoy it). Alex helped Pete and i cook roast pork with all the trimmings, and I made a syrup sponge pudding instead of a birthday cake. She certainly enjoyed both courses of her birthday meal - and I suspect she won't complain if we do it all over again next weekend!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.