dsparks83

By dsparks83

Shortly before the end

This is my 365th blipfoto, an entire year! And it'll be my last, at least for the moment. When I first started posting on here I did it as a bit of fun and a way to get me taking more photos having just bought a new more functional camera. It's certainly worked in that respect and I think I'm probably a better photographer for it. It seems weird to refer to myself as a photographer, but I guess that's the correct phrase, rather than bloke who takes pictures.
A while ago I made the decision to see out the year of posting and leave it at that. I think it was probably after posting another random 11pm picture of whatever I was sat near in the house or realising I'd posted another picture of the same bit of the Pyrenees or Nice airport. I was quite happy with my decision but as the final post has approached I've wondered about the choice, I think I'll miss it. Not the thought late at night of 'oh bugger I haven't taken a picture today' or having to sit down and work through an 8 day backlog of stuff I haven't put onto the site, but the whole thought behind having to take a picture for the day. I know I won't take as many pictures, and in the case of another photo of what I'm cooking that's not a bad thing, but I've taken pictures of stuff I wouldn't have thought to over this past year and it's lead to an interesting diary of the last 365 days.
I'll still post photos of course, I'll start using Instagram and Flickr again, my Instagram use has been nearly non existent since I started using blipfoto. Both of those as well are much better sites for purely posting photos. I think blipfoto misses a trick in that respect - don't get me started on tiny grey text on a grey background! - although I'm also aware how easy it is to be critical without knowledge of the constraints of the operators of the website.
I also think I've maybe overshared on here with the whole wide world. I've certainly posted a lot on here that I wouldn't have put online otherwise and I'm not sure if reigning that in is a bad thing, I don't think it is.
I had considered posting occasionally but I know it won't happen, without the pressure of posting once a day it'll slip, it'll be a week without a photo, then two, then a month and eventually it'll lax off into non usage. So I'm cutting it off completely and maybe one day I'll decide I want to document another year, or maybe just a month. For the moment though it's goodbye to the blipfoto community, at least as a contributor.

So I knew I wanted to post a "The end" picture, I'm not sure many books still have that written in do they? The page above is from Catch 22, a book I'd love to re-read but I don't generally re-read books, or re-watch films. There's so much new to pick up and take in, maybe I'll make an exception this once though, especially since I don't remember the book in any great detail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.