Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

The thrill of reading

When I was in school - and that was quite some years ago - I loved reading books. That is, until they made me read for Dutch literature. I hated it because it was never about the story itself, but about things like deeper layers. I never really 'recovered'...

Reading books for English, on the other hand, was great. It was all about the story and being able to explain it to your teacher. Now that it is world book day, I want to show you all the greatest book of all: The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien. It's actually a series of three books. I have read it about five times now and it just remains thrilling whenever I do so.

The first time I read the book, I just couldn't stop. My mom would come in my bedroom around 10.30 PM and tell me to stop and sleep. So I had this small light that I would use to continue reading without my mom knowing. I could go on until 2.00 AM...

In this blip I have tried to recreate how that looked. Or at least, how I remember it looked, with the book and myself completely under the blanket...

Yesterday's blip was not uploaded until very late. I really liked it; you may want to check it out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.