To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

Make Way for Books

Athough only Ireland and the UK celebrate World Book Day today (we celebrate April 23), I couldn't resist taking on the forum challenge and posting a book-related blip. Books and reading are highly valued in our home, and I could've blipped the bookcases double-stacked with books, my night table piled with the 7 books I'm currently working my way through, or the carpet of books on the floor of my daughter's room. I thought, though, I'd keep it sweet and simple. The book my daughter is reading is Make Way For Ducklings, a classic children's book that takes place in Boston and one that has been enjoyed for several generations. I remember my mom reading it to me when I was a child. I wouldn't be surprised if my daughter reads it to her children.

___________


"A house without books is like a room without windows. No man has a right to bring up children without surrounding them with books.... Children learn to read being in the presence of books." ~Horace Mann


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.