greensh

By greensh

Dark Fantasy

I saw a meme that said “Artists are people driven by the tension between the desire to communicate and the desire to hide –D.W. Winnicott”. I can relate to this. Art can be a savior for those wishing to hide. In the past I was perfectly OK with dropping though a hole in the ground and disappearing from people's minds. It was the ultimate hermiting fantasy. I've since touched so many people (and vice-versa), and now a vanishing act is no longer possible. Having those connections is a good thing, and the tensions of art have allowed me to be more present in the larger world.


Dark Fantasy
Poem for Day 042 – 20141104

I had a dark fantasy,
one of dying unattended,
forgotten,
alone.
Nobody would attend my funeral,
if I even had one,
a non-event,
nothing.
All of my achievements are nothing,
my failures vanish also,
double whammy,
wiped.

Gladly I will fail this fantasy,
I will be remembered,
commemorated,
recalled.
People will attend my funeral,
a celebration of a life spend,
a grand experiment,
striving.
I've accomplished works of art and science,
failures have made me grow,
celebrations of creation,
and life.

© 2014. Sean Green. All Rights Reserved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.