in/out/current

The User's Guide to the Brain was retrieved from my parents' bookshelf over the winter festive period. I don't know if my dad had got round to reading it yet (I'd left it there a couple of years ago in return for having borrowed Phantoms in the Brain) but I fancied reading it again, though have no idea when I'll get round to it. More recently just-read but not-pictured are Banks's Transition and Herring's Talking Cock. Currently being read are Musicophilia by the Bloke Who Wrote The Man Who Mistook His Wife for An Hat and the book of the series of The Genius of Photography, though it looks like the series might be the better thing as the narration is considerably less artcock than the accompanying writing. It's the first photographybook I've owned or read and I was wary about getting it in case I start dwelling too much on names or techniques or processes or paradigms instead of just practising. Possibly next on the list is The Lore and Language of Schoolchildren by the Opies though also unread on the shelf are a Dawkins, an Irving, a Pinker, a Self, a StanleyRobinson, an Attenborough's biography and a few more besides which I didn't bother taking down to photograph when I saw how large the currently-bought-but-unread stack would have been, even though second-hand books photograph better than new ones as far as ruffled pages go. Having a few still to read is mildly irritating as it means I have to stay out of second-hand bookshops for the time being; even those which are staffed by talkative staff or which try and trip you up or which are infested with manky, smelly dogs or whose reputation exceeds their actuality are pleasant places to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.