Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Asleep

Mama's poem to Reuben, with love, Mama

When I survey the wonder in your eyes
On bended knee beside your crib at night
And kiss curls frame the face that holds those eyes
You hold that gaze, it sets my heart alight.

When fast asleep, your fingers dance in words
And tell of dreams, enchantments, learned thoughts
Bewitched am I by aura, radiant light
'Neath fairy tales that speak of wooded walks.

And gentle shadows dancing softly cast
O'er tiny hands with dimples in a row
Such gentle hands that daddy's hands do touch
And downy toes then flicker all aglow.

Your cupid's bow that graces your dear face
I kiss those lips that ne'er fail to melt
My heart and when you try to speak
It grows the vines of love I've always felt.

Yay you have put me under your sweet spell
I cannot lift your face from my closed eyes
And when you wake in morning's summer light
Afresh! Anew! for life with great surprise!

- Mama

This is one of my older, but favourite poems I wrote for Reu and whilst Reu had an unexpected sleep today, the words started to dance round in my head again, like the night they first did when I first put pet to paper. They say an author never forgets the opening line. SOOC.

Thanks for your kind words of late Blippers. I added a little bit at the start of the profile as a bit of a background to somewhat explain it all. After Reuben was born, I started a blog and it's been cathartic for my feelings, the good and the bad. In time, I added the book I wrote for Reuben "Letters to Boo: The highs and lows of pregnancy after fertility issues". Many of the great ironies of Reuben's condition shout, like my beloved rock concerts which Reu would sweetly sleep through in utero and yet the greatest irony is the great blessing which can come with disability. It might seem trite and certainly something you wouldn't wish on any child, but it's a statement of the life and promise and absolutely everyday miracles which I can only say are just unmissable.

PS still got a stinking cold and since I haven't been outta the house since Sunday, they're all indoor shots

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.