The Way I See Things

By JDO

Bedraggled

The weather here has progressed from mizzly to dreich (a wonderful Scots word that I doubt I could get away with saying, though if this bitter, miserable, cold, wet stuff goes on for long I may find myself trying). Some things in the garden are coping - certainly the ferns are looking well - but this solitary pampas plume is very depressed. When we bought the house there was a large clump of pampas grass in the garden, but one spring I raked through it to remove the previous year's debris and it went into a massive huff and disappeared completely. I wasn't too distressed - I don't care for it all that much - but this year it reappeared and I didn't have the heart to be horrid to it again. I suspect it might now be thinking of emigrating in any case.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.