OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Swans over the Peedie Sea

The large pond, or lagoon, in Kirkwall can be good for birds, especially in winter. Today I saw two jack snipe there...the smaller version of common snipe. I was by the police station which abuts the water and trying to get a distant shot of the jacks when a policeman politely asked if I was, as it appeared, simply photographing birds, as they have to check anyone taking photos near police stations due to concerns over terrorism. I confirmed that my only targets were birds. These swans were there too. I might have cropped into the group and lost the top bird but for the fact that the top bird is a whooper swan while the others are mutes. The whooper may have just arrived from Iceland so deserves to be included.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.