yourlastname

By yourlastname

Meet Sarah at Felton Road

After a failed attempt to get a place on a wine tour that would go to my favourite wineries, I bit the bullet and rented a taxi on "sightseeing rate" and created my own tour.
Stop 1 - Peregrine. When I first went here in 2001 the cellar door was a little shed and the tasting was eclectic and rewarding. Today it's a big place and the tasting was, in the nicest way, commercial. I had high hopes for the Pinot Noir but it left me a little disappointed, which was a surprise.
Stop 2 - Mount Difficulty. Lovely welcome and an enjoyable and informative tasting. The premier Pinot was lovely but pricey at $NZ 99.50, paid my dues and left for the final stop ...
Stop 3 - Felton Road. The high spot. Sarah was managing the cellar door and tasting. The tasting room is small and cosy and the place has a really homely feel to it. We chatted for sufficient time to add substantially to the taxi bill and tasted some really lovely whites and reds. I ordered two taster cases and left with a 2013 Chardonnay to drink in the coming days.
Sarah took us out to the store at the back and kindly agreed to let me take this blip.
I have no connection to Felton Road, I am just a happy customer. If you are in South Island, New Zealand and want a premier tasting, I recommend it wholeheartedly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.