Trudieva

By TrudievA

Road trip

Well kinda...

Today I left the house early to pick up fellow blipper Ingeborg on the other side of town where she is staying for a short business trip with her husband. We had never met each other irl. I just subscribed to her journal some time ago when I started blipfoto and obviously one thing leads to another. So I was very excited when she told me she was travelling to Houston and soon after we started making plans to meet and go blipping together for a day during her stay.

Although the temperature was still nice, it was overcast with some showers. I think we managed to avoid most of those showers and a few drops on the window was all we got.
We drove to San Felipe first where we visited the historical site. Then we made a quick stop on Main Street in Sealy. Not much to see and do there, but the buildings are old. We took a few pictures and drove to Bellville. Bellville has a nice historic city center with a court in the middle. We had lunch at Bellville Cafe and the food tasted very good. We both liked the decorations inside the cafe, but we waited until most people were gone to take pictures of the bar and the decorations on the wall.
After lunch we walked around the small town for a while and saw the county jail. It looked pretty from the outside.
Then we went on to Brenham. It was already about 2pm and we didn't have time to go to the Bluebell factory, so we walked a few blocks around the historical center and took pictures of the buildings and other stuff.
We continued our little trip to Chappell Hill and Hempstead, but we didn't get out of the car, since we didn't know how long it was going to take to get back to the hotel and I had no cellphone reception in the middle of nowhere.
The last part of our trip was just a long drive on some country road with farms and pastures on both sides. We saw a dead deer, goats and even a longhorn cow. Gotta love that country feeling!

Back on I-10 traffic was already getting bad. I dropped off Ingeborg at the hotel and continued my trip back home. Took me 2 hours to get from the I-10 to my driveway. Traffic has gotten bad in these past years.

Thanks Ingeborg, for our wonderful day together in the country. I really enjoyed our trip and we need to have an encore next year!

The picture was taken at the San Felipe Historical Site. We were both wondering why the fence was built this way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.