Painless condition but painful memories

Woke up with no pains from left kidney but thought it best to do some physical work just in case. Unable to use chainsaw (noise) got out the splitter and did some of the large logs I had cut up in the pre-hospital week, as part of the shake, rattle & roll kidney stone removal therapy. Trailer half empty. Hope I can get the rest done before the weather breaks down mid week. Another brilliant day even if the photo doesn't reflect it. Pls note the 1.5 liter water bottle, the 0,5 liter stone beer mug (for tea!) and ignore the smaller coffee mug.

Just a personal aside: RIP Acker Bilk. I wasn't a "fan", respected his talent  but like all music, there is a time & place for everything. I do have one Acker 45 - "Aria" - released in 1976. In October that year, I split up finally with my first real love having written her the last letter on 29th October. Friendly but very painful split & Aria hit a very tender spot.

Back then I used to keep a diary (very short) Interesting to see what I was doing in November 1976:
1/11 Rembrandt Hotel, London
2/11 Luglia & Amanda (sisters) came around to flat late. (High St Ken)
3/11 Drinks party Sloane Sq. 6:30
4/11 Amanda's wine & peanut butter ?!
5/11 Guy Fawkes Highbury Hill
6/11 Chiswick rowing, Roslyn Park rugby,(both as spectator) Hard Rock
7/11 London Brighton car rally, Hyde Park. Kite flying, meet friend in East Grinstead - Early night!

Boy was I busy and all the luxury & life of decadence - no doubt fleeing the break up pain. The month has entries like:
Chez Gerard:(sounds classy at least), ended up in Soho at Golden Horseshoe gambling.
Cafe Royal Edinburgh
George Hotel Edinburgh
Walk over Forth Bridge
British Caledonian (few will know what this or what a BAC 1-11 was)
St. Ermin's Hotel London
Wine & cheese party....

On 24th November, someone I had met briefly a year or two before phoned having tracked me down through my parent's telephone number. We met that night at Toad Hall restaurant in London and eight months later, we married!

Sadly didn't last but some great times and the two best children one could ever wish for.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.