random rancid rambles

By rancidand

Book ended

So I didn't know until I saw all your blips. But it gives me a good opportunity to tell you about this really exciting book I found in the airport.

A few years ago when I was unemployed I had a job leading a trek with a load of brummie lads from Kulu Valley to Spiti Valley in Himachal Pradesh over the glaciated Pin Parbati pass. At the time I found very little info. We came back in landrovers over the Kunzum La and the Rohtang pass, both over 4000m and cut off by snow 8+ months a year. The next year I was leading a group of girls and we took a bus from Manali over the Rohtang Pass and then over the Taglang La at 5200m the 2nd highest road that goes anywhere, on our way to trek near Leh.

So this book was originally written in the 60s by a guy who chose to be an administerer there, between the Rohtang, Taglang and Kunzum La, locked in by the snow - he even got Indira Gandhi to forward it, and now its updated with a further forward by Sonia Gandhi.

Exciting stuff

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.