One River: Into the Light

Next leg of my One River journey today. This is probably the section of the River Don that I know best. Perhaps not the prettiest, but a section that I am very fond of, flowing through the industrial heart of Sheffield. The industry nowadays is much lighter, although there are still steelworks. I love the fact that this urban stretch is home to so much bird life. In winter, there are Goosander sailing along, and Fieldfare and Redwings feeding on the riverside berries, in summer the retaining walls provide nest sites for Sand Martins. All year round, there are Pied and Grey Wagtails, Moorhens, Mallards, Herons, assorted Gulls and most excitingly, Kingfishers. I got some good views of one today, but got only one shot, which wasn't very good.
There was lots of activity by the River Stewardship Company, keeping the rampant riverbank vegetation in check, maintaining footpaths, and dredging a goyt as a flood prevention measure. Good to know the river is well looked after. This section took me from the Upper Don to the Lower Don. The next leg will take me into the navigable section of the river.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.