Bonfire Night aka Fireworks!

Tried a new route to College this morning and was sat in the canteen with coffee and porridge by 8.45!

A relatively uneventful morning until I received the following text from MrRoly: "Just checked in and realised I have no passport. Will be coming home briefly tonight to pick it up."

Now MrRoly is in Gloucester today, so popping home is about a 400 mile round trip. It was suggested I could meet him half way after collecting the children from school but I had promised to take them to the fireworks and timings would be tricky. So I suggested a courier.

I rushed home from college to meet the courier, only to find no passport! The courier departed with driving license - the only ID MrRoly has with him is his Gweek Seal Sanctuary card - while I ransacked the house. I think some of you may guess where this is going...

After tea, we hat, coat and gloved up and walked along to the cricket club. Bella spotted her friends and was off away without a backwards glance. Lily won a Pirate FM goody bag by going on stage, she and Red both chose a flashy twirly thing each and then we queued forever to get candy floss. Ally was especially impressed when I told some older teenagers off for pushing in at the front as this is what happens to him daily at school in the canteen!

Finally the fireworks began and they were bloody brilliant! I'm a convert! No more squinting from the bedroom window unless it's raining - I'll be there EVERY year unless it's raining and only seeing the biggest ones!

So we get home and I call MrRoly, he has just got back to his room and as I'm on the phone checks his suitcase...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.