Found and Lost

By Paused

Wake in the journeys

Today was a strange day.

I traveled to London to a conference that I wasn't originally going to go to. When I decided not to go they offered me a free place. I took this as a nudge from the universe that I should probably go, so I did.

The conference was everything you might expect. lots of folks trying to network, looking awkward around the buffet table, trying to get in everything good about themselves in 3 second soundbites. All the fun of the fair.

The content was well presented but nothing new. its like they tell you what you already know but because they told you and others share your opinions you feel more part of the pack. Like you belong.

This is the first time I have been to one of these things since the loss of my father earlier this year and I didn't really feel like I belonged today. I did my bit, did the rounds, people nodded to my ( ever-so insightful ;-) ) perspectives and my hosts were glad I went. I didn't really enjoy being at the place though too many things that really don't matter, too many tunnels, not enough outside time.

The journey however was another matter, full of richness and observations. Many people rushing to destinations not many spending time to wonder. I did today and feel better for it. I hope the destinations for the folks in this photograph I took this morning were more fulfilling my mine. Above all I hope they enjoyed the journey. I give thanks for being awake in my journey today :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.