A place in time

By Verbosa

James

This is a photo of my friend James at the Guildford Farmers Market – one half of the partnership who run ” Imbhams Farm Granary” in nearby Haslemere – the other half being the lovely Maggie, who can be seen on the website: Imbhams Farm Granary

They sell the most wonderful, locally grown grains – either pre-milled or as whole grains should you wish to mill your own wheat or flake your own groats.

Today I tried their new (pre-milled) Surrey Six Seed Bread Flour, which has been awarded a 2014 Great Taste award. It made the most wonderful, wholemeal bread I have ever tasted – soft, with great texture and slightly nutty without being terribly “worthy” if you know what I mean. I also bought a bag of the Red Surrey Wheat grains to mill myself and I’ll keep you posted.

I think I may have Blipped (long ago) that I do have my own small electric mill for grinding flour from grains and also a hand-turned flaker to turn groats to oats. Perhaps I need to Blip them again with updated tales...?

P.S. I have promised to send James a link to Blipfoto as he hadn’t heard of it, so I do hope he likes what I’ve uploaded.

P.P.S. The milled flour mix contains stoneground Surrey red strong wheat (89%) with maize, rye, linseed, millett, sunflower & sesame seeds (11%). Awesome, eh?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.