Thursday Thanks

One of the things I value about living in Oaxaca, Mexico, is the history that surrounds me every day. This photo was taken from the rooftop of the place we live. The church on the right side is the Basilica de la Virgin de la Soledad (Virgin of Solitude) that was built from 1682 to 1690. There is a large plaza (Plaza de la Danza) between this church and the one on the left. Many of my blips are taken from events that happen in this plaza.
Far in the distance, on the ridge to the left of the cross atop the Basilica, is Monte Albán, the ruins of a Zapotec city that reigned for 1200 years, from 500 B.C. to A.D. 750. If you look closely, you can see the outlines of the pyramids, though if you didn't know, you wouldn't realize they were there.
Zapotecs are still the primary indigenous people in this area.
To me, this is truly awesome, and I can't tell you the number of times I look up there and try to imagine...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.