Just trying to survive

By NovaLovesFrogs

The doorbell that caught on fire

I have OCD, and mine manifests in ways that I realize are irrational but people don't understand that I'm aware it's irrational and telling me it's irrational isn't going to make it stop. It's actually very patronizing and I hate it.

One of the irrational manifestations of my OCD is the paranoia that the house will catch fire and our cats will burn to death while we're out of the house.

I hold my breath and always look for smoke as we get close to the house.

Well, one day, someone rang our doorbell. I went to answer the door, but people here are ridiculously impatient and either continue to ring your doorbell with great urgency or outright leave if you take longer than twenty seconds to answer the door. NOT an exaggeration.]

No one was there when I got to the door, but as I headed back to bed I smelled burning electronics and heard a strange humming sound.

The doorbell speaker had caught fire on the inside.

I called my significant other and he said to shut off the power and he'd be right home.

Once home, he pulled it out, restored power, and had to go back to work.

That day did NOT help my paranoia about the house burning down. Not at all. I struggle with it even more now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.