postcards from new york

By editrrix

revolution

These started to appear about a month ago. I like the sentiment, but see it as nothing but. I imagine the writer is young and idealistic. Young Americans will sadly not have the full advantages of a democracy. I sort of wish I could be a fly on the wall in a high school classroom where teachers are teaching American history. (What can you say? Three branches of government? Separation of church and state? Signing statements? Executive privllege? Bill of Rights? It goes on and on...) I've seen lies in textbooks already. I am thankful every day that I don't have kids because I do not think that I could find words to make today's crimes palatable or understandable.

There are just as many folks in the neighborhood who will spray paint over any dissenting graffiti or stickers. So in many places throughout the city there is a push and pull of anonymous opinion, which is quite democratic.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.