Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

The weekend starts here...

Many many years ago I worked in road haulage (the wheel had just been invented - well it saves you saying it) and on Friday afternoons - pay day - when the trunkers and shunters used to get together you knew there'd be a card game on somewhere, often in the back of a box van or in a circle of strategically parked lorries. Now I'm not suggesting that this happened anywhere except Davison's Transport but I don't have any models of their lorries so I've used Oban Express examples which would be appropriate for Port Appin. I don't think they were around in the 1960's but it's as well to say "any resemblance to real events is purely co-incidental".

I hated Friday afternoons because I had to pay out the wages to the long distance drivers (Trunkers) and they were mainly away from home all week so their tacho clock cards were a nightmare to work overtime from. I was regularly called out of the office into the yard to settle differences of agreement. I suppose they thought beating the beejeezus out of me made their cheating OK. Terry from Wembley Depot was a particular problem and had a following (ring leader). I was terrified of him! Fortunately my boss was a street fighter and relished these confrontations. Lots of action but never industrial!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.