Ozcloggie-Jo-Joop-MrJoop.

By ozcloggie

My father's footsteps-the "health colony&quot

One of several items on my "to do list", during my fifth trip back to the Netherlands, where I was born, was to go to where my father had been sent, as a small boy, to recover his health.
It has always been said ( by him) that an injection, at school went wrong and affected his sinuses.
He passed away September, 2009, aged 92. I'd heard him say so often (in Dutch) " And then I'd be between these two women, in their uniforms, you know and be taken for a walk in the dunes. "
It was good to finally be, where he'd been then. (I was in the Netherlands, to take his ashes "home".)

I did not find out if there were RECORDS of names of all those children who stayed there. There were a number of the houses, in Katwijk aan Zee.

The amazing co-incidence that I'll never get over is the chance meeting, with a lady who WORKED in those house (in later years), that I had on the railway platform, in Gouda. Where, even more amazing, she introduced herself (I SHALL NEVER KNOW WHY!!!) as an ex-AJC member. My parents and I belonged to that youth organisation when we were young!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.