Grist to the mill

This is Preston Mill, in a secluded spot on the outskirts of East Linton. I have seen many terrific photos of the old mill by local photographers, especially on Flickr. So, as I was up early I took a walk along the river there. This is what I came back with. It's ok. Kind of. But if I hadn't converted it to sepia then it would have been pretty nondescript and that sky is just flat.

It's taking photos of things like this that make me realise just how much I've got to learn if I want to take decent photos. It's only when you can measure your own efforts against people who have been doing it longer, and with a whole lot more application and effort, that you can see clearly that there's much more you can try to squeeze out of a subject.

Anyway, on to more more important things - the Sunday lunch meat fest has been purchased from the excellent butcher in East Linton and now there are three kids waiting to be ferried to parties in Edinburgh and then I have to wade through a mountain of awards entries I agreed to judge when I had my guard down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.