Flood

It rained all night and by morning, water was running off the hills and burns were swelling the rivers and filling the fields.
Rosie and I were in the kitchen at Dumfries Northwest, making a tasty veg hotpot, and by lunchtime, the sun was out and the sky blue. I did a bit of computer work at college and some food shopping before heading down to the Whitesands to take photos of the floodwaters, which had closed the road and the car park.
I chatted to another photographer who told me that a few years ago, he gave up smoking, and every few months, he treated himself with money he would have spent on cigarettes. He showed me his new camera and told me how much pleasure he got from photography.
As we talked, the water level was dropping and the road reopened. I went to visit my friends Dorothy and Ken, whose flat has an amazing view of the river, before heading home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.