Tools of the trade

I have a confession.

No despite the previous days blonde wig photo, I'm not coming out as a transvestite!

It's a far darker secret than that!

I have a tendency of dropping my cameras!!!!

So having killed a pair of Nikkor AF-S 18-105 lens (the one that came with the D80 and the D7100), and struggling with my little (35mm) and big (55-300mm) lens; I finally had a day off - in Bristol - when I could get to a camera repair shop.

Monday was an inset day so, C and me popped up to Black On White in Westbury Park; to see what he could do.

Today after picking up C from after school club, we shot up to Westbury Park again, and picked up the donor lens (really dead), and the repaired lens (which now has the old mount from the donor lens).

Hoorah.

I'll try to be more careful.

I promise.

This is a shot of one of the workbenches in the shop - nothing hidden from site here! A lovely old fashioned approach to technology. It doesn't get bagged up and sent away to be done.
John does it there and then in his little repair shop.

So now that I have a set of 3 DX lens; plus 2 old lens from the film Nikon SLR - I think I'm going to bite the bullet and get the D80 sent away to be transformed into an IR camera.

Still not fully sure what is involved; but I like the idea of 2 Nikons, sharing a set of lens - but able to take completely different pictures.

BTW, for those who are interested - £24 to move the mount from one lens to the other. Seems a fair deal to me!

Now, where did I leave my bra....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.