Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Lands End

No, not the Lands End in Cornwall. This is Land's End in San Francisco. A beautiful part of the city, just a short bus ride from all the main tourist attractions.

This is one of my favourite places to go when I am in the city. There are a couple of places to eat with great views of the Pacific Ocean (when not enveloped by fog!), and there are paths along the beach as well as along the cliff tops overlooking the bay and the Golden Gate Bridge.

Today was another warm and sunny Indian Summer's day. I took another of the FREE bus tours that are offered to the employees of my airline. This tour was the 'Parks and Beach' tour, going through the Civic Center, Golden Gate Park, Ocean Beach, Lands End, more of the park, Haight Ashbury and Japantown. I rode the bus out to Lands End, had lunch, explored the ruins of Sutro Baths and walked along a bit of the beach below Cliff House. I spent a couple of hours there but I wish I'd had more time as I would have been happy to spend the rest of the afternoon leaning on a rock and reading a good book while soaking up the view and eventually watching the sunset. Unfortunately, duty called, and I had to head back to the hotel and get ready for my return flight to London.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.