Hard fought

The final result of a long, hot and beautiful day on water: A redfish or red drum , and a good size at 8-9lb.

Being held by Captain Duane Baker who patiently searched out the fish and was endlessly polite about my questionable casting (I think the fish alternately required a helmet and a telescope...).

The day started with a long run right up into the Everglades and, after a few redfish had been seen and not caught, a jack crevalle decided to make dinner of the lure.

As the day wore on, we hopped back from mangrove island to mangrove island, across a sea perfectly reflecting the clouds, eventually finding some black drum that were in a feeding mood.

With the Keys in sight and the sun sinking, finally a group of reds cruised into view. I cast, the fish looked disinterested again, then one turned and dug up some mud. The line went tight and I was finally connected to an elusive redfish. After a tense few minutes that saw me running from one end of the boat to the other, it was finally in the net. Happy days.

Sight fishing on the flats is something I've always wanted to do, and after yesterdays DIY efffort, I was really looking forward to today and it didn't disappoint.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.