Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

Why did Guernsey become a tourist destination?

It's all because British Railways employees had free travel to the Channel Islands so ventured across the Channel on board the Mailboats. I remember the yellow funnelled St Helier and St Julien and my favourite red funnelled St Patrick. In the early 60s these were replaced by, what was described at the time as "luxury vessels" the Sarnia and Caesaria (Latin for Guernsey and Jersey).

I bought this old trunk in St Peter Port a couple of months ago for just fifty quid. It's a bit tattered but I loved the fact that it still has old stickers from the days when it was shipped over here. I was inspired to blip it by Mr Hobbs series on locks; so although the lock on the old trunk is much less impressive than many, Mr Hobbs series reminded me that I have macro lenses that haven't seen the light of day for a while now.

Sadly, it now costs a small fortune to get to Guernsey and it's definitely not cheap once you get here so its heyday as a tourist destination is well past. But we can offer a Blipmeet to anyone who would like to visit. Can you resist!?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.